OSSA Names 2019 Administrator of the Year

OSSA Names 2019 Administrator of the Year

tony smith and michael carter

The Oregon Small Schools Association (OSSA) is proud to announce Tony Smith as its 2019 Administrator of the Year. Smith is the Middle School/High School principal and athletic director at St. Paul School District, which is located 22 miles north of Salem.  

Smith, who grew up in St. Paul, has spent 13 years at the school district. During that time, the high school graduation rate has remained strong at 95 to 100% and student participation in athletics and activities is about 90%. According to Superintendent Joe Wehrli, the district’s at-risk student populations have maintained strong graduation rates and scholarship acquisition, as well.

During his leadership, Smith has led the Middle/High School through 1:1 implementation of technology for fourth through twelfth grades. He also provided design recommendations and supervised the renovation and seismic retrofitting of the high school gym and locker rooms, the remodeling of the elementary school and construction of a new gym. During Smith’s tenure, the district added a girls’ softball program and facilities, an additional practice field and a varsity baseball field.

“Tony is an effective motivator and has set a standard of commitment to student success that all administrators can aspire to. He is outgoing, compassionate and has a seemingly endless tool kit when it comes to motivating students and connecting with families,” said Wehrli. “Whether in the classroom or on the athletic field, Tony motivates others to excel in all aspects of their lives.”

Smith received his OSSA 2019 Administrator of the Year award at the Confederation of Oregon School Administrators (COSA) Conference at Seaside on Thursday, June 20.

“The OSSA Board of Directors is very pleased to honor Tony Smith this year. He exemplifies the strong character and leadership that are crucial to the success of Oregon’s small school districts,” said Michael Carter, OSSA board president.

OSSA recognizes one school administrator each year who excels in his/her leadership position. Criteria include integrity, leadership, commitment to community, scholarship and student achievement.

Photo Caption: Tony Smith, left, accepts his award from Michael Carter, OSSA Board President, at the COSA conference.

Release Date